Film your Trips! Interview with Kelley Ferro of Tripfilms.com

By: Triptrotting Team

Kelley Ferro of Tripfilms.com

We’ve got our top 50 finalists for the trip of a lifetime this summer!!!  They will be uploading great videos coming up on our Youtube channel so watch out for some creative videos coming soon!  Speaking of videos…Traveling will expand your views and build amazing memories…so why not document your journey?  We caught up with Kelley Ferro from Tripfilms.com to share with us some of her experiences and her love for travel.  Of course, she’s also one of the Ultimate Triptrotting contest judges!  We’re down to the final 50 contestants so let her know who you are! Oh and did we mention that she even shares some cool tips on how to make a great video?

What’s your background?

I went to Tufts University and also studied abroad in Perugia Italy. At Tufts, I started Tufts Traveler, a travel magazine that’s still in production today. Now, I’m the Host and Production Manager at Tripfilms.com. I manage all of our content (which is topping the charts at 11,000 videos!) and I send filmmakers on assignments. I also manage all the editorial content, contests and partnerships at Tripfilms and yes, I’m behind our Twitter/FB too. I also host 3 shows on Tripfilms, and my main show, Get Lost and Go Local, allows me to travel around the world!

How many countries have you been to?

I’ve been to approximately 35 countries. It’s crazy! I just counted recently and it shocked me.

What made you start traveling and why do you continue to do it?

My parents took me on a plane when I was 3 so some of my first memories are from traveling. That’s the only thing I can really pinpoint, but my love for travel just has always been a part of who I am. And it only grows!

Why do you travel? Purpose?

I travel because it’s when I’m the happiest. I love learning about our world and meeting the people in it. I also am lucky enough to be able to travel for work. As host and filmmaker for Tripfilms, I am sent on assignment to make videos about new destinations.

What was your inspiration to travel?

I feel like it’s the best education I can give myself is to learn about new places and understand the people in them.

What’s a crazy experience you can share with the Triptrotting community?

I don’t know where to begin! Every trip has crazy experiences—one in particulary is getting lost in Istanbul and then bribing a fisherman, who didn’t speak English, to take us to down the river and we started taking in water. Let’s just say we made it but barely.

Any advice for those who want to do what you do?

My only advice is to do what you are passionate about. Everything else will follow but aim in the direction of your passion and you will get there. That and money spent on travel is never wasted.

Any advice for Triptrotters to “travel like a local?”

I always ask the locals for tips! It’s a great excuse to meet locals and learn more about the place you are in. Carrying a video camera definitely helps me to talk to locals and often I’ll ask locals to be in my videos. It’s a great icebreaker!

Why did you decide to settle in New York?

New York is a vibrant city where people from all walks of life coexist in this living organism. It’s raw and gritty and there’s just so much to do. It is a place of great opportunity in the travel world and I love that it’s a really accessible homebase.

What was the most surprising thing you learned about another local culture?

I enjoy cultures that are different than mine and usually seek those out as learning about new ways of life. One thing that surprised me a lot was the way women are treated in some cultures and that was hard to experience, especially in cultures where they are treated as inferior to men.

What are you looking for in the Ultimate Triptrotter?

For the finalists, we are looking for:

  • Passion: enthusiasm and authentic passion for travel and meeting people
  • Sense of Adventure: a willingness to put yourself in a new situation
  • Story: ability to make an entertaining video with a good story
  • Skill: quality shots, variety, narration (on camera or voiceover)
  • Unique: Something that sets you apart from the rest
  • Check out here for tips on how to make a good video here

See more of Kelley’s adventures on Tripfilms.com here

About triptrotting

Triptrotting is a global community of world travelers and local hosts (aka "Triptrotters"), who are matched together based on compatibility. Whether you are going to study abroad, traveling for work or adventure seeking in a new country, having a local friend can go a long way. Our online platform and our proprietary matching algorithm will guide and suggest compatible local hosts for you that you would actually be interested in meeting based on factors such as your interest and personality.

Posted on May 23, 2011, in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Leave a Reply

